Not a good couple of months …

Mid December to mid February aren’t going down as the best couple of months I’ve ever lived through.  Mind you, they could be worse.

 

First, there was the dad thing …

I have spent a lot of weekends either working to retain my moderators certification in quizbowl (I was up for recertification this year), or back at mom’s house helping with dad related things.  Needless to say, I have had little time to see or talk with anyone.  I have a long standing put off dinner with John Cosgrove, and I also need to get in touch with Ed and RJ soon.

One of our state’s best moderators was fired from this job with the state tournament.  I am still trying to get to the bottom of that one.  There was no real justification for it.

Then the snow came … I had parked my car in a guest spot to allow the plows to clear my space … only to wake up the next day and find about an inch of snow in my unplowed spot, and my car under a glacier.  After digging out the car and rocking it free, I parked it in my spot, only to be awoken by the police the next morning to find out my neighbor had backed into my car.   To make matters worse, the neighbor has been dragging his feet on the insurance.

Then on Saturday this last week, my heat went out.  Not so big a problem, except this is the second time my brand new heater has conked out since November.  When the workman arrived (very quickly), he opened it up, and it looked like someone had set off a Molotov cocktail inside … melted wires and insulation, charred ash … not too good!  The guy told me that he had to come back today with this boss to figure out the problem.  That meant two days sans heat.

I roughed it out the first night.  But when 5 pm rolled around and I was bundled up while the thermostat hung around 55, it was time to go.  I stayed in a hotel last night, saw the dentist this morning, and came home to let in the work crew who had to do major surgery …. new wiring and a new circuit breaker.  I hope they are finishing up as I type this …. (actually, I have just heard the whoosh of heated air coming from the vents … I should be warm in a little bit).

The only good news:  with dad’s health, my biannual review had to be put off a bit, and my department chair was very accommodating.  When we finally got to do it a few weeks back, I got the best review in the last three years.  That was good.

All in all, it could be worse …

2 Responses to Not a good couple of months …

  1. Tom N. says:

    Tom,
    I’m sorry to hear things have been so down lately. (But congrats on the teaching review!) Things seem to come in waves, sometimes you’re up, sometimes you’re down. Hang on, and look forward to spring!

Leave a Reply

