Dad Update

My  father’s condition has been progressively worsening over the past several months.  About six weeks ago during one of his drunken bouts, he slipped and fractured one of his thoracic vertebrae, forcing him to wear a brace and use a cane.  His time in the hospital very briefly returned him to a state of coherence. (This was the last time I saw him).  It didn’t last long.

 

About three weeks ago, he was disappearing for hours and a day or two at a time.  My mom took away his keys and moved his car to some random spot.  When he found out, he got angry and tried to disable my mom’s car.  It didn’t work, but my mom gave back his keys.

Shortly after, for some reason, he lost the ability to walk.  He was moved into a physical rehabilitation home.  According to my mom, he is not capable of carrying on a conversation too well.  He has been incapable of eating much.

Today, my mom received a call that he had been rushed to the hospital in intense pain.  He was diagnosed with infectious peritonitis.  The doctor advised my mom to confirm that status of his DNR, and that while there is a treatment for this, if it is not successful, he would likely die very quickly.  When my mom got to talk to him, he was coherent enough to tell her that he felt that “this is it”.

Given the man’s stubborn streak, I wouldn’t be surprised if he holds on for ten more years.  Needless to say, I made sure to get my suit jacket dry cleaned.

I am going to go see him after school tomorrow.  I don’t know if this will be the last time I see him or not.

One Response to Dad Update

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I’m sorry you’re having to live through this drawn-out process, and sorry that your father can’t seem to figure out what the good and important things in his life really are. He must have known at some point, to be able to raise the kids he did.

    Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

