I spend the day with my sister

It has been a little over a year since I married my sister (to her husband), and for their anniversary, my brother-in-law bought my sister a membership for the zoo. My sister works nights, and my brother in law works days, so a lot of times my sister is sleeping until 10 or 11 am, and often times an hour or two walk around the nearby zoo is a good way to spend part of a day. Those who know her know that she loves animals of all kinds.

So, I took advantage of an invitation to join her on a day off and revisit the scene of last year’s wedding. It was a delightful day (a little humid and overcast, but even I could tolerate it). We got to see the zoo’s new bear exhibit which was very cool (a large partially-underwater window on the polar bear pool was really neat). We got to pet some stingrays, and then feed them (very cool). Overall, I waxed rhapsodic about how the zoo has changed over the last 30+ years since I started going there. I have often thought that after I retire, I would like to volunteer at someplace like the zoo or one of Chicago’s other great museums. It reminds me how lucky I am to live around these places. Rather than take a traveling vacation like lat year (enough travel to last a little while), I might just take a few days and go live downtown and take advantage of the museums …. I still have never gotten to the University of Chicago’s Oriental Institute, and very much want to get there soon.

Leave a Reply

