You know what today is!!!

Readers will know that today is a special day …. in some ways the most special day of the year. The druids may have held the Spring equinox as a holy day, but they never had a day like today to celebrate once a year. We even have some hymns to sing. This one is my favorite:

Well, beat the drum and hold the phone – the sun came out today!
We’re born again, there’s new grass on the field.
A-roundin’ third, and headed for home, it’s a brown-eyed handsome man;
Anyone can understand the way I feel.

Chorus:
Oh, put me in, coach – I’m ready to play today;
Put me in, coach – I’m ready to play today;
Look at me, I can be centerfield.

Well, I spent some time in the mudville nine, watchin’ it from the bench;
You know I took some lumps when the mighty Casey struck out.
So say hey Willie, tell Ty Cobb and Joe DiMaggio;
Don’t say “it ain’t so”, you know the time is now.

Chorus

Yeah! I got it, I got it!

Got a beat-up glove, a homemade bat, and brand-new pair of shoes;
You know I think it’s time to give this game a ride.
Just to hit the ball and touch ’em all – a moment in the sun;
(pop) it’s gone and you can tell that one goodbye!

Thank you John Fogerty!

It IS Opening Day …. winter is officially banished, the tarp is off the field, the organ is tuned, the hot dogs are warm!!

And hope is restored* …

* even for Cubs fans.

2 Responses to You know what today is!!!

  1. R.J.D.S. says:

    You know, I will award Mark Buehrle the Gold Glove award for 2010 based on his opening-day performance.

    • teganx7 says:

      I am willing to wait …. but I suspect he is well on his way … His pitching and defense, based on limited data, seem to be as good as ever.

Leave a Reply

