Expensive summer

Teachers lives are governed by the seasons (interestingly, much like a baseball player.  I think a lot of teachers refer to remembering “school years” and “summers” because that is how their lives are generally broken down.  Two years ago was my “best year ever”.  The 2004-05 and 05-06 school years were the “years of hell”.  The summer of 2004 was “the summer I spent in Phoenix” … as this summer ends, it goes down as the “expensive summer”.

A few weeks ago, I decided that I needed to get back to exercising, but did not want to keep paying the money to join the local health club, which I had done for a few years before giving up on exercising about two years ago.  So, I decided it was time to spend some money and go out and get an elliptical trainer.  When I bought it, I thought delivery and set up were included, but upon the people dropping it off and driving away, I learned that it was “some assembly required”.  It took the better part of a day, making a mistake or two that required backtracking, but I finally got it together, and have been working out twice a day.  Note:  elliptical trainers are not cheap!

A few days ago, we had some of the most humid days we have had in Chicago over the past two years.  I have been happy to report that so far I have yet again kept the air conditioning off for another summer … but it was mighty tempting for those two days.  I noticed a small pool of water forming at the base of my refrigerator, and figured it was condensation from the humidity.  Then I noticed that things in my freezer were melting and that things in my refrigerator were cooler than air ambient, but not by much.  Fortunately, very little had to be thrown out, but it was time for a new refrigerator.  So today I went out and bought a new one.  While I was looking at the varied models, I finally found that of the 23 models on display, exactly one fit into the nook that is available for my refrigerator in my kitchen.  I decided rather than spending many to pull cabinetry and such, I would buy the new refrigerator that fit.  In the end, it was one of the less expensive models, so I was grateful for that, and in the long run, I should save some money on my electric bills because the old one was likely original with the condo in 1979.

If there is to be any other good news from these purchases, it is that I finally ditched the credit card that I have had since college and have a brand new one that earns me points on a rewards program that I belong to.  So, even though I have really only made two purchases on the card since I got it, they have been fairly sizable ones, and while it was hardly my intent, it boosted my membership level very quickly.

Leave a Reply

