And so it begins ….

It seems to me in a world where the less educated encroach more and more on the land of the educated that things like blogs should be outlawed.  I’ve never liked them much, even though I see their value.  But, after seeing Tom’s, and having Al finally browbeat me into getting one ….. here I am.I, like most of my friends, grew up on the hardened  streets of Chicago’s South Side (OK … it was more like the suburbs, but our asphalt was as hard as anything Mayor Daley ever ordered spread on his streets!).  I graduated from a great school, made great by very good teachers and very strong students.  I went to a “public ivy” (you know the school was good because the football team was bad), and entered into my calling: education.  2007-08 is my 13th year, and through good and bad, they have been years I do not regret.While the first three years of my career were south of Madison Avenue (south of which is the Sou’ Side), since then I have been in the antithesis of the South Side, interestingly called the North Side.  Depressed Cubs fans to the left of me, drunken Cubs fans to the right of me.  I clutch my replica World Series trophy in the middle.   It’s a life!

3 Responses to And so it begins ….

  1. Alan P says:

    Well, Tom, nice job getting the blog set up! Now you just have to be careful not to say anything too compromising…

    I’ve added you to my RSS feed at Google (http://www.google.com/reader), so I won’t miss a post!

    Alan

  2. Tom N. says:

    Boy Tom, between the cell phone and the blog, you’re just full of surprises! Next thing we know you’ll be instant messaging or something!

    Just one warning: Don’t get dooced (but certainly read Dooce’s blog, since it is often funny). That is, be careful what you write about your job, because this is a public site.

  3. Alan P says:

    And I don’t even rate well enough to hear about the cell phone until I hear about it here!

Leave a Reply

